gfxgfx

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
logo

gfx gfx
gfx
680601 Posts in 27601 Topics by 4068 Members - Latest Member: Dae Lims March 29, 2024, 03:44:29 PM
gfx*HomeHelpSearchCalendarLoginRegistergfx
gfxgfx
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Hi - I'm new to the board.  (Read 8354 times)
Eireannach
Smiley Smile Associate

bedårar

View Profile
« on: February 22, 2012, 08:11:34 PM »

Hi everyone.  I have been a Beach Boys fan for a long time.  My favorite song when I was a high school freshman in 1988 was Don't Worry Baby.  I was a pretty casual fan then, having only the Made in the U.S.A. compilation (on cassette)  Cheesy until picking up the CD version in the early 90s.  Anyway, even as a casual fan, I knew there was so much more to the group than 'beach music', and I would usually skip right past 409, Surfin' Safari, etc.  However, I also recall that I didn't "get" Heroes and Villains or Caroline, No either, and I'd skip those as well.   About 8 years ago I picked up a copy of Pet Sounds when I was in Hawaii on vacation and needed some CDs for when we were in the car.  I picked Pet Sounds because I remember hearing that it was well regarded.  I knew I liked God Only Knows and Wouldn't It Be Nice, but at the time I just didn't get the rest of the album - yeah.  I even saw Brian Wilson in concert (opening for Paul Simon) a few years ago, but didn't appreciate how good his music was.  The Beach Boys' Christmas Album was always one of my favorite Christmas albums.