gfxgfx

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
logo

gfx gfx
gfx
680597 Posts in 27600 Topics by 4068 Members - Latest Member: Dae Lims March 28, 2024, 02:54:22 PM
gfx*HomeHelpSearchCalendarLoginRegistergfx
gfxgfx
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: The uniqueness of the Beach Boys  (Read 1474 times)
Zenobi
Smiley Smile Associate

View Profile
« on: August 27, 2022, 04:06:01 PM »

This just dawned on me, and is the best answer I ever found to my question of almost sixty years: among all the fantastic music around, what makes the Beach Boys (and, of course, Brian) UNIQUE? Why do I always return to them, and still think there is no better music?

My answer, now: the Beach Boys music is not just a bunch of albums, songs and sessions. It is a SPACE. It's an enormous sea where you fish the tools to build the music of your dreams, even if only in your dreams.

Of course, many go further than dreams. I'm no musician, but when the legendary GV boxset was released, practically the first thing I did was my own very simplistic SMiLE mix, appending the long Good Vibrations session to the SMiLE songs and getting a totally heavenly 41 minutes album.

And it is not only SMiLE. I have listened to fanmixes of transcendental beauty, lasting one or even two hours and built using music from ALL the Beach Boys "eras". The best of them, imho, are better than anything released by the Boys themselves. By the way, there is also at least one uncannily believable and satisfying "completed" 1967 SMiLE following the fabled twelve songs "list".

I know no other band or musician with that same feature: enabling practically anybody to fiddle endlessly with their music, and get good and even awesome results. I'll take as an example one of my fav musicians: John Coltrane. Yes, you could fiddle with his music, but you would have to be a very accomplished jazz musician.