gfxgfx

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
logo

gfx gfx
gfx
680597 Posts in 27600 Topics by 4068 Members - Latest Member: Dae Lims March 28, 2024, 02:29:17 PM
gfx*HomeHelpSearchCalendarLoginRegistergfx
gfxgfx
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Stephen Desper's career  (Read 1326 times)
Magic Transistor Radio
Smiley Smile Associate

Bill Cooper Mystery Babylon

View Profile
« on: October 09, 2020, 01:56:06 PM »

As far as I can tell, and I am no expert, Stephen Desper is an engineering genius! According to Wikipedia, he didn't do much in pop music outside the Beach Boys or inventing the Spacializer. Certainly he was offered jobs with other bands/record labels? If not, he was the Beach Boy' best kept secret!

I know Stephen comes on here from time to time. So he can answer, or anyone else that has some insight of what he did after Surfs Up, other than American Spring and a few more  Beach Boys albums he engineered?

"Over the years, I've been accused of not supporting our new music from this era (67-73) and just wanting to play our hits. That's complete b.s......I was also, as the front man, the one promoting these songs onstage and have the scars to show for it."
Mike Love autobiography (pg 242-243)
VanDykeParksAndRec
Smiley Smile Associate

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2020, 08:21:12 PM »

Oh how I'd love a Spatializer,  so curious about them.  There was one for sale recently too!  The Desper era is hands down my favorite BB content.
Reverberation
Smiley Smile Associate

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2020, 09:24:54 PM »