gfxgfx

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
logo

gfx gfx
gfx
680598 Posts in 27600 Topics by 4068 Members - Latest Member: Dae Lims March 28, 2024, 09:52:03 PM
gfx*HomeHelpSearchCalendarLoginRegistergfx
gfxgfx
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Help Please! Some Smile questions  (Read 3187 times)
Hickory Violet Part IV
Smiley Smile Associate

View Profile
« on: October 17, 2017, 02:29:10 AM »

I'm doing a masters at the moment, and am getting a short presentation about the myth of Smile together.

Now I have all my books out, and I'm desperate to find where the idea first surfaced that Smile was to be edited together with no banding, i.e, no gaps between cuts. The earlist mention I can find is in the Todd Gold book, not the most reliable of sources.

"The whole album is going to be a far out trip through the old west. Real Americana. But with lots of intersting humour. There's even going to be talking and laughing between cuts"

My memory is not what it is. I'm sure prior to 91, it was generally accepted that Smile was going to be edited into a continous 2 sided work. This of course was reflected in the 2004 performance  and subsequent recording . Does this idea date back to Look Listen Vibrate Smile? I dont have this book at to hand at present.

My main objective is to show how the mythology possibly influenced Wilson, Parks and Sahanaja in 2004 when assembling Smile for performance.

I'm also tryjng to chase up the VDP quote about Smile being originally envisaged as a conventional 12 track album with banding.

By the way, if this thread turns into a discussion about the banding / no banding issue, I'm happy with that, as it's always an interesting subject. My main priority though is chasing down these quotes / ideas to their original source.

Can anyone help?
« Last Edit: October 17, 2017, 02:34:02 AM by Hickory Violet Part IV » Logged
MrRobinsonsFather
Smiley Smile Associate

View Profile