gfxgfx

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
logo

gfx gfx
gfx
680597 Posts in 27600 Topics by 4068 Members - Latest Member: Dae Lims March 28, 2024, 10:40:42 AM
gfx*HomeHelpSearchCalendarLoginRegistergfx
gfxgfx
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Fall Breaks & Back to Winter  (Read 18812 times)
Steve Latshaw
Smiley Smile Associate

View Profile
« on: January 21, 2016, 08:50:04 AM »

I've been listening to the stereo version of this board's namesake and it just keeps getting better and better; out of the shadow of Smile, a real classic album.  I continually hear wonderful little things buried in the mix.

I noticed for the first time (I've been listening to it since 1977) the persistent repeats of the Woody Woodpecker theme on harmonica (Woody's melodic laugh), and got a huge kick out of it.  I don't know how I missed it; Woody Woodpecker was may favorite cartoon at the tender age of 4.

But here's the real question.  Back in the 70s... the legend, heard repeatedly in the rock press... and in the interviews... was that the "Fire" tapes had been junked or destroyed.  Perhaps this was perpetrated by the Boys to keep the legend alive. I remember the 1978 Jim Ladd/Dennis Wilson interview where he described going into the vaults and listening to the tapes.  In those days we all wondered about those Fire tapes... gosh, what must they sound like to be so frightening.

As we all know now, Fall Breaks was nothing less than a redux of Fire.  I wonder if that was a source of amusement to the band... or at least Brian... that Mrs. O'Leary's Cow had been hiding in plain sight all those years...
yonderhillside
Smiley Smile Associate

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2016, 09:06:58 AM »