gfxgfx

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
logo

gfx gfx
gfx
680753 Posts in 27615 Topics by 4068 Members - Latest Member: Dae Lims April 20, 2024, 05:06:01 AM
gfx*HomeHelpSearchCalendarLoginRegistergfx
gfxgfx
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Mike and Bruce - Pre 2012  (Read 21614 times)
KDS
« on: November 19, 2015, 08:24:07 AM »

Hello All,

Let me preface this by saying that I'm relatively new to the SSMB, and I have a question about the climate on here prior to the 50th Anniversary Reunion.  I really don't feel like looking at years worth of old threads.

I also don't wish to start yet another Mike v Brian thread. 

But, I'm curious.  What was the overall feeling towards the Mike and Bruce (and sometimes David) version of the Beach Boys that existed from 1998-2011?

Was there outrage prior to the end of the 2012 reunion about Brian not being in the band?  Or was it more accepted then as Brian was busy with touring with Pet Sounds, Smile, That Lucky Old Sun, and Gershwin?  Did C50 create a collective want to see Brian Wilson back in The Beach Boys? 
GoogaMooga
Smiley Smile Associate

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2015, 08:27:49 AM »

When Mike and Bruce made their set list more interesting to compete with Brian's touring band, people here, including myself, were very positive. That in turn made Brian dig deeper into the catalog for his shows (once PS, SMiLE, and Gershwin tours were out of the way).
KDS
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2015, 08:35:32 AM »

GM,

Around what time period are you referring to?  I know the M&B added some deeper cuts in the mid 2000s, but I was under the impression that they stuck to 35 song hit heavy sets for the most part until 2012.

Yes, there seems to be a sense of competition between the two camps.  Maybe this is why Brian's setlists have been very Beach Boys heavy since the end of 2012. 
HeyJude
Smiley Smile Associate

View Profile WWW