gfxgfx

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
logo

gfx gfx
gfx
680597 Posts in 27600 Topics by 4068 Members - Latest Member: Dae Lims March 28, 2024, 11:00:20 AM
gfx*HomeHelpSearchCalendarLoginRegistergfx
gfxgfx
Pages: [1] 2 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Should old guys play rock n' roll?  (Read 5931 times)
LostArt
Smiley Smile Associate

View Profile
« on: June 02, 2006, 09:32:36 AM »

I don’t post here often, but I visit quite regularly.  I know there are quite a few folks here who are much younger than I, and I was just wondering what you guys (and girls) think about older guys playing rock n’ roll.  I have been playing in bands since 1973, and I will be 50 years old this summer.  Throughout the ‘90s, I played in a band with a guy that had been in The Grass Roots in the late ‘60s and early ‘70s, and he has got to be nearly 10 years older than I am.  In the last couple of years I have gone to see a bunch of my old favorite musicians/bands play.  I got to see McCartney a couple of times, Simon and Garfunkel, Smokey Robinson, The Allman Bros., The Moody Blues, and Brian Wilson, among others.  This summer Steely Dan will be close by, and this fall Crosby, Stills, Nash, and Young are coming through my state.  I really enjoyed all of these concerts, and there were lots of younger folks at most of these shows.  I still enjoy playing out, but when I think back to when I was in my 20s, though, I remember thinking that rock music should never, ever be played by old farts.  I was just curious to see what your opinions were about this subject.  Can you be entertained by a dinosaur rocker?  Is it still rock n’ roll?   
Jonas
Smiley Smile Associate

I've got the Beach Boys, my friends got the Stones

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2006, 09:35:59 AM »

worst comes to worst just have a bunch of bikini clad ladies on stage and you'll be a-ok. Thumbs Up