gfxgfx

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
logo

gfx gfx
gfx
680876 Posts in 27617 Topics by 4067 Members - Latest Member: Dae Lims May 01, 2024, 04:16:18 AM
gfx*HomeHelpSearchCalendarLoginRegistergfx
gfxgfx
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Help writing a song that includes a key change...  (Read 1213 times)
Empire Of Love
Smiley Smile Associate

View Profile WWW
« on: December 15, 2011, 08:34:57 PM »

I am fairly new to song writing and I enjoy trying new things, challenging myself, etc.  I would like to mess around with key changes to see if there is anything there for me to add into a song.  However, I don't really know what to do and have concluded that the best way to learn to do this is by learning to play songs by other people that involve key changes.  Could some of you recommend some simple songs I could begin analyzing and learning?  I would like to avoid three things:

1. Anything too complex, I want something simple.
2. Nothing with Eb.
3. I'd prefer to avoid a key change wherein a segment is repeated almost exactly but in a different key for dramatic affect.  I'd prefer a different function for the key change, whatever that might be.
4. No Brian Wilson songs.  I just don't want to start here.

I am thinking more along the lines of a bridge that changes keys...but I'm not really sure because I've not spent much time considering such things.

Any suggestions?

mps
« Last Edit: December 15, 2011, 08:36:19 PM by mypetsounds » Logged

hypehat
Smiley Smile Associate

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2011, 07:56:05 AM »