gfxgfx

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
logo

gfx gfx
gfx
680783 Posts in 27616 Topics by 4067 Members - Latest Member: Dae Lims April 23, 2024, 09:04:16 PM
gfx*HomeHelpSearchCalendarLoginRegistergfx
gfxgfx
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13 Go Down Print
Author Topic: SMiLE release thoughts from a returnee and some questions for the scholars  (Read 57378 times)
desmondo
Smiley Smile Associate

View Profile
« on: March 15, 2011, 04:20:24 AM »

I have always been a SMiLE freak (got the boots, read the books etc) but BWPS, the emotional concerts and the closure of the original SMILE SHOP put an end to my postings although I remain a lurker.

Like many, the recent announcement has got my juices flowing again and comments on the various threads here have reminded me what I have been missing for the last five years. The flame is very much alive. My main regret is that I have probably missed newly discovered recordings but hey........

Whilst I love BWPS to bits, I am really excited about the forthcoming release in many way. BWPS has its own charm - IIGS is a great example of this - and hats off must go to Brian's band for recreating what I consider one of the greatest achievements in popular music. It stands on its own as a piece of art.

I also think its as close to the original SMiLE as we can get bearing in mind that many vocal tracks were not completed back in the day. For me its the finished SMiLE - just about. My only slightly negative comments are its length - at 47 mins its too long for two sides of vinyl, not sure about the interludes, as good as they are, and whilst the first two suites are perfect, the third one does sound a bit forced. I don't have any problems with the running order - its makes sense to me for what it was.

The new release opens up a whole host of stuff for me.